Changes to plumbing regulation in South Australia



The technical regulation of plumbing in South Australia has transferred from SA Water Corporation to the Office of the Technical Regulator (OTR), effective 7 January 2013.

The OTR sits within the Energy, Markets and Programs division of the Department for Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy (DMITRE).

DMITRE’s Technical Regulator, Rob Faunt said OTR’s technical regulation covers plumbing connected to SA Water’s infrastructure only and refers to drinking water, recycled water, backflow prevention, fire services, sanitary plumbing and drainage systems within private property boundaries.

“The change is being made because the OTR provides a similar regulatory role in the electricity and gas industry and it therefore made sense to bring the two groups together,” Mr Faunt said.

“It is our intention to maintain a business as usual approach and all registered plumbers and industry associations were notified of any changes in writing late last year.

“Inspectors moving from SA Water over to the OTR will retain the same mobile numbers.”

The Plumbing Regulation Group, including inspectors have relocated from SA Water House in Victoria Square to The Conservatory, 131 – 139 Grenfell Street Adelaide. The postal address is GPO Box 1264 Adelaide SA 5001.

For more information about services, responsibilities and regulatory powers of plumbing inspectors visit: