Advanced Manufacturing Council

Supporting growth and competitiveness in South Australia

The Advanced Manufacturing Council steers development and implementation of policies and programs to support the growth and international competitiveness of South Australia's manufacturing sector. The Council meets approximately every eight weeks and will oversee the implementation of Manufacturing Works.


  • Chair: Professor Göran Roos
  • Mr Stephen Myatt, SA Director of the Australian Industry Group
  • Mr Greg Combet AM, Former Federal Minister for Industry and Innovation
  • Mr Jonathan Law, Director, Minerals Down Under Flagship at the CSIRO
  • Mr Donald McGurk, CEO and Managing Director of Codan Ltd
  • Professor Tanya Monro, Director, Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS), University of Adelaide
  • Ms Maggie Beer AM, cook, food author, restaurateur and food manufacturer

Professor Göran Roos view profile
In 2011, Professor Roos was South Australia's Thinker in Residence on high-value manufacturing.

He is the author and co-author of numerous books and articles on Intellectual Capital, Innovation Management and Strategy.

Göran has worked as a consultant in most OECD countries and has served in management positions in several European and US-based corporations.

Stephen Myatt
Stephen Myatt is the Director of the Australian Industry Group South Australian Branch (Ai Group).

Ai Group is a leading industry association in Australia representing businesses in an expanding range of industry sectors.

Stephen was previously the Director of the Engineering Employers Association South Australia and had held that position since 1997.

Greg Combet AM

Mr Greg Combet has an extensive background in Australian Government - Cabinet, Ministerial and Parliamentary Secretary roles 2007-2013 which included:  Minister for lndustry and lnnovation as well as Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency and Minister for Defence Personnel, Science and Material.

Prior to 2007 Mr Combet was with the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) as Secretary from 1999-2007. 

Jonathan Law
Jonathan Law is the Director of the Minerals Down Under Flagship which works with industry to help address Australia's key issues in the minerals sector.

Mr Law joined CSIRO 2002 and became the Director of the Flagship in 2011.

He has extensive overseas experience.

Donald McGurk
Donald McGurk is Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Codan Limited.

He joined Codan in December 2000 as executive responsible for group-wide manufacturing.

Donald came to Codan with an extensive background in change management applied to manufacturing operations, and held senior manufacturing management positions in several industries.

Professor Tanya Monro
Professor Tanya Monro is an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow, Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) and Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP) at the University of Adelaide, is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Tanya has published almost 500 papers and raised around $140 million for research. Her transdisciplinary research focuses on creating disruptive photonic sensing technologies.

Mrs Maggie Beer AM
Maggie Beer is a renowned cook and food author with extensive experience as a restaurateur and food manufacturer.

Named Senior Australian of the Year in 2010 and South Australian of the Year in 2011, Mrs Beer was appointed a member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2012 for her service to tourism and hospitality and received a Doctor of Business honoris causa from Macquarie University in 2013.